Tumble the Boulder BOOK RELEASE PARTY at ZINE FEST BERLIN

Tomorrow is the zinefest! Our 4th annual weekend for all things self published and DIY. I’ll have a big table for Raumschiff and also do a workshop with a friend on email encryption (saturday, 3-4:30)
It will also be the BOOK LAUNCH of my new zinebook, Tumble the Boulder – The Surveillance State and the American Empire. 188 pages of articles and collages about surveillance, press, democracy, the endless war, consent, art, action, and a glossary and resource guide at the end. I’ve been working on this since February 2014 after the Transmediale festival in berlin.

Just a few days ago, with my pal SBTL CLNG, we picked up the 230 copies from the printer:

IMG_4777

IMG_4775IMG_4782Proud momma with my babies. It took 9 months from beginning to end of this project.
This was on Tuesday the 4th of november. From here we went right to the Kino International to reserve tickets for the Berlin premier of CITIZENFOUR, the new film by Laura Poitras that I have been so eager to see for the whole year.
IMG_4785Me and Ed, hanging outside the cinema.
We saw the film on Wednesday night. I am not good at film reviews so I will just say that CITIZENFOUR is an experience worth experiencing. And wow, what a theater! Laura was there and spoke before the film began, front and center against an immaculate silver curtain, the biggest rectangle I have ever seen.
After the show I found her and Jake Appelbaum sitting on a couch, both who I included interviews of in my book and are people who I highly respect. Coincidentally I had just two copies with me at the time, and had very much wanted to share a copy with these two special humans. They now have the first signed copies that I ever gave out!

The book and the zinefest got plugged in the November issue of EXBERLINER, in the “Best of Berlin” section. Page 4!!! http://www.exberliner.com/visiting/what-to-see/best-zine-scene/
So epic. It’s been a full week of accomplishments coming together, the work I’ve done all year on various projects is wrapping itself up to a calm before the storm on this eve before the zinefest. The distro is back for the weekend, I’ll have a packed-out table with over 40 titles plus some new ones I’ve put together just in the past week.
Come pick up a copy at the RAUMSCHIFF table and have a fantastic weekend! Full schedule >> http://www.zinefestberlin.com

Coming soon: free PDF download of the whole book:

TTB-cover-small

About raumschiffdistro

A zine distro
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

